Planning Department Banner, This link takes you back to home page
Planning Division Contacts
Public Counter – By Appointment Only, Cashier – Walk-in
Building, Zoning, Geologic Hazards, Environmental Planning, Environmental Health, and Public Works staff are available for in-person or telephone appointments Monday through Thursday from 8:00 to 11:30 AM. An appointment is required; please use the Appointment Scheduler to self-schedule your time. The Planning Division is located at 701 Ocean Street, 4th Floor, Santa Cruz, CA. 

A cashier is available during counter hours on a walk-in basis (no appointment required). Permit fees may be paid online here
Building We provide information about the building permit process, including application requirements, permit services, and ePlan Review. In addition, our Plans Examiners review applications for compliance with codes and policies, and our Building Inspectors insure that construction is safe and consistent with the approved plans. Staff directory here.
General Building Permit Inquiries Email Planning.BuildingInfo@santacruzcountyca.gov
  Schedule an appointment Appointment Scheduler
Schedule a Building Inspection Schedule online here
Building Permit Comments View online here
ePlan Review Assistance User Manual and Video Tutorials ePlan Review Website under "Info & Help"
  In-person help Appointment Scheduler
Zoning We provide information about zone district standards, development potential, and pre-purchase inquiries, in addition to information about discretionary permit applications such as lot line adjustments, coastal permits, land divisions, and re-zonings. Staff directory here.
General Zoning Inquiries Email Planning.ZoningInfo@santacruzcountyca.gov
  Schedule an appointment Appointment Scheduler
  Leave a voicemail 831-454-2130
Discretionary Permit Submittal Inquiries Email Discretionary.ePlanReview@santacruzcountyca.gov
Vacation & Hosted Rental Permit Submitttal and
Waitlist Inquiries
Email vacation.eplanreview@santacruzcountyca.gov
Project Specific Inquiries Find the Project Planner contact information below under Development Review
Environmental Planning We provide information about codes and policies that protect environmental resources, as well as information about site stability, safety, and grading. Our technical team reviews soils, geology, biotic, arborist, and archaeology reports. Staff directory here.
General Environmental Planning  Inquiries Email EnvironmentalPlanningInfo@santacruzcountyca.gov
Geologic Hazards Inquiries Email GeologicHazards@santacruzcountyca.gov
  Schedule an Appointment Appointment Scheduler
Records Room We provide access to our records, including past building permit and discretionary applications. An appointment is required to view records.
  Email recordsroominquiries@santacruzcountyca.gov
Housing We administer the County’s affordable housing and community development programs, state and federal housing grants and local housing funds, and partner with affordable housing developers and other public agencies to create and maintain affordable housing in the unincorporated County. Staff directory here.
General Housing Inquiries Email HousingProgramsInfo@santacruzcountyca.gov
  Leave a voicemail 831-454-2332
Additional Ways to Contact Us
Receptionist / Switchboard (8 AM – noon & 1 – 5 PM) Call 831-454-2580
General Information Desk (GID) (Mon – Thurs 8 AM to noon) Leave a message 831-454-3252
Public Hearing Agenda Information Leave a message 831-454-3371
  Upcoming &
Past Agendas
Agenda Webpage
FAX   831-454-2131
Special Needs for Planning Programs, Activities, Services (5 day notice required) Call 831-454-3137
TDD Call 711
Storm Safety Assessment Information Call 831-454-3171
Street Addressing Call 831-454-2144
  Email Street.Addressing@santacruzcountyca.gov
Mailing Address / Office Location   701 Ocean Street, Room 400 Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Administration and Fiscal

Name Title Email
Matt Machado Director of CDI & Deputy CAO Matt.Machado@santacruzcountyca.gov
Jocelyn Drake Assistant Director- Permit Center Jocelyn.Drake@santacruzcountyca.gov
Stephanie Hansen Assistant Director- Policy, Housing, &
Code Compliance
Stephanie.Hansen@santacruzcountyca.gov
Angelica Diaz Secretary Angelica.Diaz@santacruzcountyca.gov
Amy Willbanks Senior Dept. Admin. Analyst Amy.Willbanks@santacruzcountyca.gov  
Julie  Newbold Dept. Administrative Analyst Julie.Newbold@santacruzcountyca.gov
Dacia Mendoza-Isaac Accountant Dacia.Mendoza-Isaac@santacruzcountyca.gov 
Vikkee Hiddleson Senior Accounting Technician Vikkee.Hiddleson@santacruzcountyca.gov
Lucia Ruiz Office Assistant Lucia.Ruiz@santacruzcountyca.gov
Elizabeth Kanelis Imaging Technician Elizabeth.Kanelis@santacruzcountyca.gov
Joe Mathieu Records Clerk Joe.Mathieu@santacruzcountyca.gov
Melissa Nathan Office Assistant Melissa.Nathan@santacruzcountyca.gov

Building

Name Title Email
Jay Bradford Building Official Jay.Bradford@santacruzcountyca.gov
Brian Rubin Unified Permit Center Manager Brian.Rubin@santacruzcountyca.gov
Bob Collacino Building Permit Tech. Supervisor Robert.Collacino@santacruzcountyca.gov
Isolda Lobao Senior Building Permit Technician Isolda.Lobao@santacruzcountyca.gov
Gabrielle Faybusovich Building Permit Technician gabrielle.faybusovich@santacruzcountyca.gov
Bailey Kirkland Building Permit Technician Bailey.Kirkland@santacruzcountyca.gov
Shawna Rooks Building Permit Technician Shawna.Rooks@santacruzcountyca.gov
Jim Heaney Senior Plans Examiner Jim.Heaney@santacruzcountyca.gov
Lynne Bryan Plans Examiner Lynne.Bryan@santacruzcountyca.gov
Garrett Jensen Plans Examiner Garrett.Jensen@santacruzcountyca.gov
Michael Sotero Plans Examiner Michael.Sotero@santacruzcountyca.gov
John Williams Plans Examiner John.Williams2@santacruzcountyca.gov
Sean Livingston Supervising Building Inspector Sean.Livingston@santacruzcountyca.gov
Raison Dean Building Inspector Raison.Dean@santacruzcountyca.gov
Taichi Dean Building Inspector Taichi.Dean@santacruzcountyca.gov
Stefan Hayward Building Inspector Stefan.Hayward@santacruzcountyca.gov
Anthony Malich Building Inspector Anthony.Malich@santacruzcountyca.gov
Cat Thrasher Building Inspector Cat.Thrasher@santacruzcountyca.gov
Nicholas Todisco Building Inspector Nicholas.Todisco@santacruzcountyca.gov

Code Compliance

Name Title Email
Aaron Landry Code Compliance Manager Aaron.Landry@santacruzcountyca.gov
Lonnie Johnson Code Compliance Investigator Lonnie.Johnson@santacruzcountyca.gov
Marcus Mendes Code Compliance Investigator Marcus.Mendes@santacruzcountyca.gov
Tim Morland Code Compliance Investigator - Short Term Rentals  Tim.Morland@santacruzcountyca.gov
Patricia Moreno Code Compliance Investigator Patricia.Moreno@santacruzcountyca.gov
John Cairns Resource Planner John.Cairns@santacruzcountyca.gov
Evelyn Gonzalez Planning Technician Evelyn.Gonzalez@santacruzcountyca.gov

Development Review / Zoning

Name Title Email
Lezanne Jeffs Principal Planner Lezanne.Jeffs@santacruzcountyca.gov
Randall Adams Planner Randall.Adams@santacruzcountyca.gov
Jerry Busch Planner Jerry.Busch@santacruzcountyca.gov
Alexandra Corvello Planner Alexandra.Corvello@santacruzcountyca.gov
Jonathan Disalvo Planner Jonathan.Disalvo@santacruzcountyca.gov
Evan Ditmars Planner Evan.Ditmars@santacruzcountyca.gov
Elizabeth Hayward Planner Elizabeth.Hayward@santacruzcountyca.gov
John Hunter Planner John.Hunter@santacruzcountyca.gov
Michael Lam Planner Michael.Lam@santacruzcountyca.gov
Nate MacBeth Planner Nathan.MacBeth@santacruzcountyca.gov
Victoria Miller Planner Victoria.Miller@santacruzcountyca.gov
Rebecca Rockom Planner Rebecca.Rockom@santacruzcountyca.gov
Nicholas Brown Planning Technician Nicholas.Brown@santacruzcountyca.gov
Fernanda Dias Pini Planning Technician Fernanda.DiasPini@santacruzcountyca.gov

Environmental Planning

Name Title Email
Matt Johnston Principal Planner Matt.Johnston@santacruzcountyca.gov
Rick Parks Civil Engineer Rick.Parks@santacruzcountyca.gov
Jeff Nolan County Geologist Jeff.Nolan@santacruzcountyca.gov
Jessica deGrassi Resource Planner Jessica.deGrassi@santacruzcountyca.gov
Robert Loveland Resource Planner Robert.Loveland@santacruzcountyca.gov
Leah MacCarter Resource Planner Leah.MacCarter@santacruzcountyca.gov
Juliette Robinson Resource Planner Juliette.Robinson@santacruzcountyca.gov
Sydney Niiyama Planning Technician Sydney.Niiyama@santacruzcountyca.gov

Housing

Name Title Email
Suzanne Ise Principal Planner Suzanne.Ise@santacruzcountyca.gov
Tracy Cunningham Housing Specialist Tracy.Cunningham@santacruzcountyca.gov
Micaela Lopez Administrative Aide Micaela.Lopez@santacruzcountyca.gov
Porcila Wilson Housing Specialist Porcila.Wilson@santacruzcountyca.gov

Policy / Long Range Planning

Name Title Email
Mark Connolly Principal Planner Mark.Connolly@santacruzcountyca.gov
David Carlson Resource Planner / Quarry Planner David.Carlson@santacruzcountyca.gov
Sheila McDaniel Planner Sheila.Mcdaniel@santacruzcountyca.gov
Annie Murphy Planner Annie.Murphy@santacruzcountyca.gov
Matthew Sundt Planner Matthew.Sundt@santacruzcountyca.gov
Anais Schenk Planner Anais.Schenk@santacruzcountyca.gov
Natisha Williams Planner  Natisha.Williams@santacruzcountyca.gov