Planning Department Banner, This link takes you back to home page
Planning Division Contacts
Public Counter – By Appointment Only
Building, Zoning, Geologic Hazards, Environmental Planning, Environmental Health, and Public Works staff are available for in-person or telephone appointments Monday through Thursday from 8:00 to 11:30 AM. An appointment is required; please use the Appointment Scheduler to self-schedule your time. The Planning Division is located at 701 Ocean Street, 4th Floor, Santa Cruz, CA. 
Building We provide information about the building permit process, including application requirements, permit services, and ePlan Review. In addition, our Plans Examiners review applications for compliance with codes and policies, and our Building Inspectors insure that construction is safe and consistent with the approved plans. Staff directory here.
General Building Permit Inquiries Email Planning.BuildingInfo@santacruzcounty.us
  Schedule an appointment Appointment Scheduler
Schedule a Building Inspection Schedule online here
Building Permit Comments View online here
ePlan Review Assistance User Manual and Video Tutorials ePlan Review Website under "Info & Help"
  In-person help Appointment Scheduler
Zoning We provide information about zone district standards, development potential, and pre-purchase inquiries, in addition to information about discretionary permit applications such as lot line adjustments, coastal permits, land divisions, and re-zonings. Staff directory here.
General Zoning Inquiries Email Planning.ZoningInfo@santacruzcounty.us
  Schedule an appointment Appointment Scheduler
  Leave a voicemail 831-454-2130
Discretionary Permit Submittal Inquiries Email Discretionary.ePlanReview@santacruzcounty.us
Vacation & Hosted Rental Permit Submitttal and
Waitlist Inquiries
Email vacation.eplanreview@santacruzcounty.us
Project Specific Inquiries Find the Project Planner contact information below under Development Review
Environmental Planning We provide information about codes and policies that protect environmental resources, as well as information about site stability, safety, and grading. Our technical team reviews soils, geology, biotic, arborist, and archaeology reports. Staff directory here.
General Environmental Planning  Inquiries Email EnvironmentalPlanningInfo@santacruzcounty.us
Geologic Hazards Inquiries Email GeologicHazards@santacruzcounty.us
  Schedule an Appointment Appointment Scheduler
Records Room We provide access to our records, including past building permit and discretionary applications. An appointment is required to view records.
  Email recordsroominquiries@santacruzcounty.us
Housing We administer the County’s affordable housing and community development programs, state and federal housing grants and local housing funds, and partner with affordable housing developers and other public agencies to create and maintain affordable housing in the unincorporated County. Staff directory here.
General Housing Inquiries Email HousingProgramsInfo@santacruzcounty.us
  Leave a voicemail 831-454-2332
Additional Ways to Contact Us
Receptionist / Switchboard (8 AM – noon & 1 – 5 PM) Call 831-454-2580
General Information Desk (GID) (Mon – Thurs 8 AM to noon) Leave a message 831-454-3252
Public Hearing Agenda Information Leave a message 831-454-3371
  Upcoming &
Past Agendas
Agenda Webpage
FAX   831-454-2131
Special Needs for Planning Programs, Activities, Services (5 day notice required) Call 831-454-3137
TDD Call 711
Storm Safety Assessment Information Call 831-454-3171
Street Addressing Call 831-454-2144
  Email Street.Addressing@santacruzcounty.us
Mailing Address / Office Location   701 Ocean Street, Room 400 Santa Cruz, CA 95060

Administration and Fiscal

Name Title Email
Carolyn Burke Assistant Director- Permit Center Carolyn,Burke@santacruzcounty.us
Stephanie Hansen Assistant Director- Policy, Housing, &
Code Compliance
Stephanie.Hansen@santacruzcounty.us
Angelica Diaz Secretary Angelica.Diaz@santacruzcounty.us
Amy Willbanks Dept. Admin. Analyst Amy.Willbanks@santacruzcounty.us  
Julie  Newbold Administrative Analyst- Permit Center Julie.Newbold@santacruzcounty.us
Dacia Mendoza-Isaac Accountant Dacia.Mendoza-Isaac@santacruzcounty.us 
Vikkee Hiddleson Senior Accounting Technician Vikkee.Hiddleson@santacruzcounty.us
Lucia Ruiz Office Assistant Lucia.Ruiz@santacruzcounty.us
Elizabeth Kanelis Imaging Technician Elizabeth.Kanelis@santacruzcounty.us
Joe Mathieu Records Clerk Joe.Mathieu@santacruzcounty.us

Building

Name Title Email
Marty Heaney Building Official Martin.Heaney@santacruzcounty.us
Lynne Bryan Plans Examiner Lynne.Bryan@santacruzcounty.us
Bob Collacino Building Permit Tech. Supervisor Robert.Collacino@santacruzcounty.us
Raison Dean Building Inspector Raison.Dean@santacruzcounty.us 
Taichi Dean Building Inspector Taichi.Dean@santacruzcounty.us
Stefan Hayward Building Inspector Stefan.Hayward@santacruzcounty.us
Jim Heaney Plans Examiner Jim.Heaney@santacruzcounty.us
Bailey Kirkland Building Permit Technician Bailey.Kirkland@santacruzcounty.us
Sean Livingston Senior Building Inspector Sean.Livingston@santacruzcounty.us
Isolda Lobao Senior Building Permit Technician Isolda.Lobao@santacruzcounty.us
Anthony Malich Building Inspector Anthony.Malich@santacruzcounty.us
Laura Mellish Senior Plans Examiner Laura.Mellish@santacruzcounty.us
Shawna Rooks Building Permit Technician Shawna.Rooks@santacruzcounty.us
Brian Rubin Building Permit Technician Brian.Rubin@santacruzcounty.us
Michael Sotero Plans Examiner Michael.Sotero@santacruzcounty.us
Cat Thrasher Building Inspector Cat.Thrasher@santacruzcounty.us
Nicholas Todisco Building Inspector Nicholas.Todisco@santacruzcounty.us
John Williams Plans Examiner John.Williams@santacruzcounty.us

Code Compliance

Name Title Email
Matt Johnston Principal Planner Matt.Johnston@santacruzcounty.us
Aaron Landry Code Compliance Investigator Aaron.Landry@santacruzcounty.us
Marcus Mendes Code Compliance Investigator Marcus.Mendes@santacruzcounty.us
Patricia Moreno Code Compliance Investigator Patricia.Moreno@santacruzcounty.us
John Cairns Resource Planner John.Cairns@santacruzcounty.us
Lonnie Johnson Planning Technician Lonnie.Johnson@santacruzcounty.us

Development Review / Zoning

Name Title Email
Jocelyn Drake Principal Planner Jocelyn.Drake@santacruzcounty.us
Lezanne Jeffs Principal Planner Lezanne.Jeffs@santacruzcounty.us
Randall Adams Planner Randall.Adams@santacruzcounty.us
Jerry Busch Planner Jerry.Busch@santacruzcounty.us
Jonathan Disalvo Planner Jonathan.Disalvo@santacruzcounty.us
Evan Ditmars Planner Evan.Ditmars@santacruzcounty.us
Elizabeth Hayward Planner Elizabeth.Hayward@santacruzcounty.us
John Hunter Planning Technician John.Hunter@santacruzcounty.us
Michael Lam Planner Michael.Lam@santacruzcounty.us
Nate MacBeth Planner Nathan.MacBeth@santacruzcounty.us
Sheila McDaniel Planner Sheila.Mcdaniel@santacruzcounty.us

Environmental Planning

Name Title Email
Matt Johnston Principal Planner Matt.Johnston@santacruzcounty.us
Rick Parks Civil Engineer Rick.Parks@santacruzcounty.us
Jeff Nolan County Geologist Jeff.Nolan@santacruzcounty.us
Jessica deGrassi Resource Planner Jessica.deGrassi@santacruzcounty.us
Robert Loveland Resource Planner Robert.Loveland@santacruzcounty.us
Leah MacCarter Resource Planner Leah.MacCarter@santacruzcounty.us
Juliette Robinson Resource Planner Juliette.Robinson@santacruzcounty.us
Logan Thompson Resource Planner Logan.Thompson@santacruzcounty.us

Housing

Name Title Email
Suzanne Ise Principal Planner Suzanne.Ise@santacruzcounty.us
Tracy Cunningham Housing Specialist Tracy.Cunningham@santacruzcounty.us
Micaela Lopez Administrative Aide Micaela.Lopez@santacruzcounty.us
Porcila Wilson Housing Specialist Porcila.Wilson@santacruzcounty.us

Policy / Long Range Planning

Name Title Email
Stephanie Hansen Principal Planner Stephanie.Hansen@santacruzcounty.us
David Carlson Resource Planner / Quarry Planner David.Carlson@santacruzcounty.us
Annie Murphy Planner Annie.Murphy@santacruzcounty.us
Daisy Allen Planner Daisy.Allen@santacruzcounty.us
Anais Schenk Planner Anais.Schenk@santacruzcounty.us
Natisha Williams Planner  Natisha.Williams@santacruzcounty.us